Pink Polka Dots in Koh Tao

by Christina

 

Written 9/16: Whoever said money doesn’t buy happiness was wrong. So wrong. Today I splurged accidentally and I had a blast. I got my own bungalow today – thats 300 baht. Then I walked into town with my friends. I was just going to see the town and get a taxi back (100 baht) and they were going to rent a scooter and do their own thing but when I went with them to rent the scooter I found out it only costs 150 baht to rent for 24 hours and if I was going to pay 100 baht for a way one taxi I may as well spend the extra 50 baht and be able to see the rest of Koh Tao. So I rent the scooter and filled it up with gas – another 50 baht. I haven’t rode a scooter since I was 16 and this one was turbo charged and goes really fast – terrifying, to say the least. Not to mention Koh Tao is completely made up of bumpy (REALLY bumpy) unpaved mountainous rodes. As soon as I got on the scooter I thought “uh oh, big mistake, I can’t drive this thing.” Then I parted ways with my friends and went exploring. I think I got the hang of the scooter though it still terrifies me. I’m surprised I made it out without the bike falling sideways or slipping from beneathe me. I’m telling you, it was the scaredest I’ve been in a long while- but then again it was the most thrilling fun I’ve had in awhile also! Having fun by yourself in an odd thing. As soon as I got back to the bungalow I called Evan to tell him all about my day – this was the best I could do at sharing the experience. 😦

 

I rode all the way to the northern part of the island where I saw a whale skelaton, then I rode to the far southern tip of the island and everything in between including the “main” beach with all the bars, restaurants and touristy things. Along the way I saw a sign for a burger and fries and I had to stop despite not being the least bit hungry. I had been craving a hamburger for 3 months and finally I found one! I got lucky too, it turned out to be quite delicious and I dont think it was because I hadn’t had one for so long. Plus it came with a real salad. I’ve missed leafy greens so much. A “salad” in India is cucumber and tomato sliced. Sad. It was a fantastic meal and for a reasonable price (120 baht). Also along my scooter journey I found a dive shop and picked up a mask and snorkel for an overpriced 550 baht but I figured renting a mask is 50 baht a day and since I’ll be in the island for 3.5 more weeks it’d be a good investment. I think so, yes. I also got suckered into buying a new swim suit. A pink polka dotted one – I couldn’t resist for 150 baht. At least now I feel on par to the other cute girls frolicking on the beach – okay, maybe they aren’t frolicking but still! Its nice to have nice things, no? My Austrian friend had bought a dress too small for her in Bangkok and so she gifted it to me! Its so wonderful to wear 1. something new and 2. something girly. I’ve been traveling for too long in clothes with holes in them!

 

After splurging I stocked up on water which is shockingly cheap in the main beach and sunscreen which is shockingly expensive (450 baht!!) and scooted back to my bungalow – no easy task mind you. The road to my bungalow is the worst of them all. The roads are ALL bumpy, unpaved and sandy and practically at a 90 degree angle. Horrifying. I’m afriad to go down them tomorrow! Yipes! That scooter has been a ton of fun but it’ll be a relief to hand the keys back in…I’m so afraid of damaging it and it costing a fortune!

 

When I did make it back to the bungalow – safely, I quickly put on my new suit, grabbed my mask and jumped in the water for some sunset snorkeling. The tide was low and the coral reefs were about 1-2 feet below me. Good since I’m blind, bad because hitting your foot on coral is terribly painful. Speaking of pain, my foot pain has decreased significantly – the great healing ocean is doing its job well.

 

After showering and settling into my new bungalow my friends (who happen to be in the bungalow right next to me) came a knockin’ and invited me for drinks at the restaurant near by plus a “blue moon” party in the jungle. I accepted for the drinks, declined the party. I enjoy alcohol a lot less here for some reason and partying – well, thats never been my thing. All in all it was a fantastic day. I spent quite a bit beyond my budget but heck you only live once!

 

Oh, more good news! I found a couch to surf on in Phuket, so I think thats where I’m heading to next – sometime around September 22nd. Trying to decide if I should stay in Koh Tao until then or head elsewhere. I have a hard time staying put it seems. This is my third night and I think maybe one or two more and I’ll be done. I wish I could find a less touristy (and cheaper) island but I think all the good islands have been turned into resorts. They’re popular for a reason after all. Phuket is probably the worst of them all (in terms of tourists which, I hope, means that the beaches are stunning!) but it’ll be nice to hang out with another traveler, a resident of Phuket who can show me all the ins and outs of the island.

 

For now I am enjoying having my own bungalow. I’ve been sharing space for the past 2 weeks. In fact, since Evan left this is the first time I’ve been in sleeping in a place alone. The quiet time is nice. Feels good to unpack and take inventory, do laundry, throw out the unnecessaries and what now. I feel uncluttered and light. I’ve come to terms with what i thought was an outrageously priced bungalow. I checked out some other bungalows/hostels/dorms while in town and the cheapest is 300 baht and they’re god-awful. Only benefit (and yet main disadvantage) is that they’re located in the touristy side of the island with all the good cheap restaurants. Boo! But for 300b my little bungalow is a steal. I’ve got an attached bath, a huge comfy bed, a fan that works! and a great balcony with a hammock and breathtaking views. Oh and of course, the beach, just at my doorstep and oh so lovely and quiet!

 

More adventures on the scooter (and burgers) to come tomorrow! I thought Koh Tao was cursed since I had such a bad start but things seem to be looking up. I’m happy and relaxed and my mind feels strong and calm.

 

I sure hope this sunburn turns into a tan at some point – a 4 week sunburn sounds like a nightmare! Yipes!

 

Written 9/17 AM: Well my first night in my bungalow was pleasant enough. So nice to sleep on a comfortably bed despite the bug net that covered it and me. Upon waking though I realized I was actually sleeping in the jungle – I had a foot long fat gecko or something of the likes glued to my wall staring me down. Upon catching glances he bolted out the windows. Oh and I have a toad or something that has settled behind the toilet. Thank god these things don’t bother me, my Austrian friend would’ve had a fit!

 

Right now I’m writing this from my pink hammock with one awesome view of the sun rising from behind the forest, I’ve got an interesting mix of insects and butterflies fluttering around me. Evan would be impressed by all the new flies.